Message to Guests.

Welcome to Safaritalk where we have been talking Safaris and wildlife conservation since 2006. As a guest you're welcome to read through certain areas of the forum, but to access all the facilities and to contribute your experience, ask questions and get involved, you'll need to be a member - so register here: it's quick, free and easy and I look forward to having you as a Safaritalker soon. Matt.

Photo

Need help with buying a camera

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 gangurru

gangurru

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Local time: 05:25 AM
  • Category 1:Tourist (first-time visitor)
  • Category 2:---

Posted 01 March 2012 - 11:16 AM

Hello all,

I want to buy a new camera for my proposed safari in June/July. I already have a Nikon L120, but as I have a $1300 credit at a camera shop I thought that I'd use it to get something suitable.

Firstly, I am a real amateur, and about all I know, so far, is that I want digital.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

gangurru

Edited by gangurru, 01 March 2012 - 01:07 PM.

Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.....Groucho Marx

#2 Anita

Anita

Order of the Pith

• Members
  • 2,676 posts
  • Local time: 03:25 AM
  • Category 1:Tourist (regular visitor)

Posted 01 March 2012 - 11:34 AM

Hi Gangurru

One of the ST members has just bought a Canon SX40 and taken for a trip- I had briefly seen it couple of months back and was duly impressed. It will come at roughly a third or fourth of your credit. Will know by mid March how it fared on the trip! We did a comparison with quite a few other makes and figured this one had the most relevant features for wildlife photography in a hybrid.

Not much experience with other makes but others will chip in!

#3 Guest_nappa_*

Guest_nappa_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 March 2012 - 12:55 PM

I expect you will receive a wealth of advice here from all levels of photography so tread cautiously!