Message to Guests.

Welcome to Safaritalk where we have been talking Safaris and wildlife conservation since 2006. As a guest you're welcome to read through certain areas of the forum, but to access all the facilities and to contribute your experience, ask questions and get involved, you'll need to be a member - so register here: it's quick, free and easy and I look forward to having you as a Safaritalker soon. Matt.

Photo

Namibia Here I Come!

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 seanb

seanb

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 04:21 AM
  • Category 1:Media/Journalist
  • Category 2:Writer

Posted 14 January 2012 - 09:04 PM

Hi Guys, A newbie here. Just in the planning stages of a trip to Namibia which will be the realization of a dream for me and the wife. Plus I'll be putting my brand new Nikon D7000 through its paces at Etosha Pan. I've also bought a new 70 - 200mm lens which I'm hoping will get me in close to the animals.
I've attached a few shots up here by Christopher Rimmer. I saw an article on him in a South African newspaper and looked him up on the web. He has done quite a bit of shooting in Etosha Pan and his work is just stunning. What worries me through is he seems to be getting awfully close up to the animals as there is an incredible amount of detail in each shot. I'm starting to wonder if the old 200mm is going to cut it. I realize I'm not going to get work of this quality but I'd really like to fill the frame with the animal instead of it being a blob on the horizon. Any thoughts from you guys who have been to Etosha?

(Edited, Matt. Please refer to this important topic about copyright. Thanks.)

#2 Game Warden

Game Warden

Administrator

• Root Admin
  • 13,729 posts
  • Local time: 01:21 PM
  • Category 1:Tourist (regular visitor)
  • Category 2:---

Posted 14 January 2012 - 09:21 PM

Welcome SeanB: I've had to edit your post, due to uploading the work of another photographer. Matt