Catering - help a novice not starve!!

JulieM

Hi all,
In just over 3 weeks, our big adventure begins!  Hubby and I are doing a 4+ month trip through southern and eastern Africa.  We are easing into it gently by having a driver-guide take us through Tanzania. We will be camping and self-catering for 9 nights, departing and returning to Arusha and going to Tarangire, the Serengeti and Ngorongoro. I am a novice camper, and would appreciate your assistance in working out the best way to self-cater for this trip. I'm assuming we will have to buy everything in Arusha or will there be places to top up along the way? Anyone care to share a shopping list, or meal plan that they have used in the past?
Cheers,
Julie

@JulieM Firstly do you have any dietary restrictions? (e.g., lactose intolerant, gluten intolerant.) Are you vegetarian, vegan? Teetotal?

Matt

Good question!  No - no dietary restrictions and not teetotal!  Happy to braai, but equally happy to do vegetarian.

Cheers.

@JulieM I'm amazed at the length of your trip!! The longest safari I ever took lasted two months and then I stayed in Nairobi for two weeks at the Fairview Hotel because I had to decide if I could move to Nairobi or not. I'm sure that both you and your husband will have a great trip. 

First thing, don't forget the corkscrew...

Reminds me of my safari in Africa. Somebody forgot the corkscrew and for several days we had to live on nothing but food and water.

W. C. Fields

Where there are people, there must be food. I think the best is to just be as flexible as possible, and probably not be too squeemish either, unless you are visiting larger towns or cities often enough to re-supply.

If one has a fridge with a seperate freezer, it is pretty easy to keep meat for longish times as one can keep it frozen, but if you only has a fridge, you have to decide whether you want to use it as a freezer or a fridge.