Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
AmyT

Post Processing

6 posts in this topic

I love kudu and only got one shot at one and the lighting is way off.  While I have photoshop (CS4 and CS6) I don't use it often enough to do more than general tweaking.  Can anyone help me get a usable print from this shot?

Thanks in advance.

KY0_7245.JPG

How's this? I'm not an expert so I opened in CameraRaw as though it was a RAW file, then hit Auto and took about half a stop off as it tends to overdo things. Tweaked contrast , whites and highlights. I didn't do any sharpening.

amyt_kudu-1.thumb.jpg.5172b3120b78b0019643a2c76507023e.jpg

6 people like this

Much better than what I was able to accomplish! Thank you!

I don't shoot RAW; don't know how to process it. That being said (written), I have two slots in my camera so could use one for RAW. 

Thanks again!

@AmyT RAW images are typically 12 or 14 bit data rather than JPEG's 8 bits so records more levels of light and dark making under or over exposed images easier to improve. So it would be insurance to record both a JPEG and RAW version of each image. But it would take a lot more storage space on your flash cards and hard disk. So there is a cost to the insurance.

1 person likes this

Nice work @JohnR

2 people like this

Posted (edited)

As former owner of Nikon D7100 body, which was the one that @AmyT is using, I can confirm it has 2 slots for SD cards, so settings can be done in a way that Slot 1 is recording RAW and Slot 2 is recording JPEG.

However, the second JPEG is really redundant; each and every RAW image has embedded JPEG image, and there is no need for any processing of RAW. Both proprietary Nikon softwares ViewNX-i and Capture NX-D can extract those JPEGS automatically. Thus you will have RAW for anyone with knowledge to play with, and JPEG as it is recorded according to camera settings.