samuelsski27

Best power options on a safari?

16 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I'm going on a Christmas safari trip to Tanzania and haven't really seen any solid plans on bringing power adapters from the US. I imagine as a photographer, I'll need to bring some combination of travel adapters for my camera batteries, laptop, phone, etc etc. I've heard of using an adaptor/converter to a power strip, but have heard of issues if the power strip would be an effective converter. Can anyone enlighten me on what they did traveling from the US? I'd really appreciate if you linked specific products that anyone has used (without being insanely expensive). Thanks!

Posted (edited)

Hi, welcome to the forum. 

The subject of adapters are near and dear to my heart and in one trip report I even wrote an ode in haiku form to an adapter.  For Tanzania you want the G-type adapter.    You can see the prongs are not round and are rectangle.  You can also see the middle prong is longer than the other two.

You do not need a converter for any modern electrical device because these devises accept a wide range of inputs.  Power strips I have encountered on safari are configured for the country I am visiting.  The camp or lodge provides the power strip and it plugs into the outlet.  Both powerstrip and outlet are configured for the country I am visiting.  Then I must use my adapter to plug into one of the several outlets in the powerstrip, so that I can plug my device into the back side of the adapter and charge.

I take 3 adapters in case something happens to one (or very unlikely two).  I also take 2-3 battery chargers for the same reason.  On safari you cannot replace your sundries.

If you might charge in the vehicle, a rubber band is handy as shown.  Even duck tape, also as shown.  These are needed because it can be very bouncy in the vehicle and you don't want your adapter and battery charger to fall out/off.

You have gotten way more than you bargained for regarding the adapter.