See all Safaritalk Special Offers

Message to Guests.

Welcome to Safaritalk where we have been talking Safaris and wildlife conservation since 2006. As a guest you're welcome to read through certain areas of the forum, but to access all the facilities and to contribute your experience, ask questions and get involved, you'll need to be a member - so register here: it's quick, free and easy and I look forward to having you as a Safaritalker soon. Matt.

Photo

Hello and Request for Videographer in Kenya

Filmmaking Kenya Saiwa Swamp Community Conservation

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Sam Forsyth

Sam Forsyth

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Local time: 06:07 PM
  • Category 1:Biologist
  • Category 2:Aid/Voluntary Worker

Posted 15 January 2017 - 12:45 PM

Hi I'm a Biology teacher in the UK, but in my former life I was a wildlife filmmaker for the BBC and various independent film companies.

I'm currently planning a trip back to Kenya this April to meet up with my friend Maurice Wanjala who chairs the Kipsaina Cranes and Wetlands Conservation Group based just outside the Saiwa Swamp National Park. Anyone interested can see the film (Queen of the Marsh part 1) I helped make about Maurice's work back in 1994 can find it here: https://www.youtube....h?v=ydSJbUdzD30.

In April I'm going to be planning  a school expedition to work with Maurice in 2018 and also working with him on his plans for a developing a Community Conservation Safari Loop around Western Kenya. Any suggestions gratefully received.

I also have a request. Maurice is hosting the Kenyan National Wetlands Day celebration on the 2nd of Feb this year. The filmmaker who was going to be helping record the day has had to pull out. I am currently looking for someone with their own recording equipment who might like to spend a day (or two) at Saiwa Swamp filming for an exciting and worthwhile community conservation cause. Please contact me if you think that you might be able to help.