Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ice

To all you lion experts out there

8 posts in this topic

please have a look at the pictures I attached; pictures of a lioness we filmed close to Lower Sabie, early one morning, even before the sun had risen completely. I now wonder what these stains on her fur are: blood from a kill (on her back?), wounds from a fight with maybe another lion or possibly a skin desease?

Would love to hear some opnions.

post-6901-0-99889800-1481302721_thumb.jpg

post-6901-0-93070100-1481302725_thumb.jpg

post-6901-0-76857000-1481302729_thumb.jpg

1 person likes this

I'm not a lion expert by any means, but I see similar on my house cats. Not in that quantity but it looks similar. I've been to the vet for them twice and have been told that it's infected (oozing, bloody) claw mark (from fighting with the other cat). It's much more noticeable on my short-haired white cat, for obvious reasons.

I'm not a lion expert by any means, but I see similar on my house cats. Not in that quantity but it looks similar. I've been to the vet for them twice and have been told that it's infected (oozing, bloody) claw mark (from fighting with the other cat). It's much more noticeable on my short-haired white cat, for obvious reasons.

that's the explanation I find most likely, too - blood splatters from a kill usually look completely different; not sure about skin diseases, though, that's why I asked

Not an expert either but I think you are right they are small wounds. There are a couple of linear cuts etc. and signs of claws dragging downwards on the right side. Poor girl; but she will no doubt be fine as they seem superficial.

By the look of her back end she has had a few problems before, although they are now fully healed.

I would personally say wounds from intraspecific fighting. But I'm no expert!
In my visit during September there was a lioness with similar but far worse wounds at Satara.