Trip report Laikipia and Masai Mara in September

linjudy

Hi all,

We just returned from our trip to Laikipia (Laikipia Wilderness Camp) and Masai Mara (Kicheche Bush Camp and Rekero Camp). It was an awesome trip! This was our 3rd safari (previously to Botswana and Tanzania), and I think the best one yet!

Here is the first installment of my trip report, featuring Laikipia Wilderness Camp. Feedback and questions welcome! And thanks again for all your help in the trip planning process :)

https://goo.gl/photos/VfSrcjAz5dtjfH2A8

That site is blocked at my work. It looks to be a file sharing site, which is prohibited here. Bummer! Sounds like it was good though.

Loved the trip report, can't wait for part II. I like how you include part of the ecosystem in the pictures and not just portraits of animals.

What was that guy doing with the day old Eland kill?

My first safari will take me to Ol Pejeta among other places (Mara too) next September, so I am no expert, but I am surprised you can go so close to the wild dogs. Even to have them walk up to you, wow!

Didn't realize how quickly dogs consume their kill.

Enjoyed your report immensely.

Edited by Gilgamesh

@@amybatt, the site is just Google Photos. Hopefully you can see from home. I will try to figure out if I can upload some photos here. @@Gilgamesh, yes, we got incredibly close to the dogs! Were told there was never any incidents of the dogs eating people :)

@@amybatt, the site is just Google Photos. Hopefully you can see from home. I will try to figure out if I can upload some photos here. @@Gilgamesh, yes, we got incredibly close to the dogs! Were told there was never any incidents of the dogs eating people :)

Thank you!

And the lion kill of the Eland? looked like someone was picking at it ?

Edited by Gilgamesh

Sounds like it was a great 3 days. Truly outstanding dog sightings. You were spoiled.

@@Gilgamesh he is just having a look in that picture I believe.