See all Safaritalk Special Offers

plambers

camera suggestions

31 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

I am amazed at the quality photos I view on this site. We are heading on our first safari to Kenya next July. I am hoping for some camera suggestions. I am an amateur so think a superzoom is best for me but I read about stability/shaking issues.

Currently I am using a Sony Cybershot 2012 version DSC - HX200V 18.2 mp with 30x optical zoom.

Can you please suggest some basic (read: easy to use) cameras with superzoom capacity. Thanks so much.

Edited by plambers

I recommend one of new 1 inch sensor bridge cameras, specifically the Sony RX- 10 III. Google the name and DP review for a good unbiased review.

You will get good to great pictures in good light, average to good in low light, marginal at night. No 1 " sensor will match a full frame but a 600mm zoom on that ( actually not available) will be a monster. A DSLR with an APS-C sensor will also do better in low light and in challenging focusing conditions such as predator chases, but for the weight and $$ in my opinion the one I recommended above is the best compromise for someone who is not prepared to invest big bucks in DSLR quality ( as opposed to junk kit) lenses. The Sony RX -10's lens alone is worth the cost of the camera.

In the end, you need to have practiced with the camera and have a basic understanding of photography to get good pictures. Modern cameras auto functions have improved but rarely get great shots by themselves.

I agree with a bridge camera. It's a cut above a standard point and shoot, allows you to shoot manually if you're so inclined and has great zoom. I have used the Nikon Coolpix P510, but would not recommend it due to some mechanical issues that keep cropping up. But yes to a bridge camera as a start.