See all Safaritalk Special Offers

douglaswise

High ISO photographyuiv)

47 posts in this topic

I am a fairly incompetent photographer with very shaky hands. I would like to produce sharp images, but am not too bothered about artistic impression. Last year, I was given advice about operating at high ISO and this greatly improved my satisfaction. I set the camera at 1600 ISO and worked in Programme mode. I didn't detect any deterioration from "noise" (or it was far less apparent than the previous blurring from shaking hands!).

I have just come back from the Pantanal where the weather was mainly dull and overcast (2.5 days of sun in 13). I upped the sensitivity to 3200 on the duller days and, again, noticed no "noise" deterioration. Notwithstanding, although some pictures were, by my standards, acceptably sharp, they were by no means all satisfactory. I am wondering about the accuracy of the autofocus in dull light and am beginning to think that shakiness may not be my only problem.

I am using a Nikon D3200 camera with a 70-300 lens. At full zoom, the 35mm equivalent focal length is 450mm and maximum aperture size is f 5.6. The quickest shutter speed is one 4000th of a second. I have set the camera to Programme mode and I produce JPEG Fine shots.