Tiger vs Elephants, a rare moment captured in Dudhwa National Park, India

Sharad Kumar Vats

Sharad Kumar Vats

I have been doing safaris in India since 1990. But never thought i would get so lucky ever. It was December 2014, i was searching for Wild Elephants in Dudhwa National Park. Saw them at a distance of about 50 meters, it was late evening, dipping light, mist did not help, and i started to take photographs. Suddenly noticed some crouching movement between myself and the Elephants, Focussed and i could not believe my luck, a Tiger. he was stalking the baby elephant, maybe a month old, and the cow Elephant was very cautious. The Elephants would trumpet, try to scare the Tiger away, but he remained focussed, with a mission possessed, and did not leave his ground. Having watched the scene for over 20 minutes we had to leave the park as the safari time had come to a close. Left with a heavy and a praying heart that God save the baby. I left Dudhwa after 2 days, it was only after 7 days that my driver called and said, "' Sir the baby is safe, and i saw him today during the safari", was i releaved would be an understatement. Sharing the images here.

Detailed article titled The Dudhwa Drama on below link

www.naturesafariindia.com

post-50369-0-58475600-1453486740_thumb.jpg

post-50369-0-48699900-1453486797_thumb.jpg

Edited by Sharad Kumar Vats

@@Sharad Kumar Vats thank you for posting about your trip to Dudhwa, a park I am very interested in visiting. This is a special sighting, elephants and tiger and forest with the road leading into the mist. It was also good to know that the young ele survived this meeting with the tiger.

If you have time, could you please write more about your sightings in Dudhwa?

Just out for a walk together is what it appears.

Far more sinister from the elephants' viewpoint. Maybe from the tiger's too as a go at the baby could spell death for the cat with one blow.

Edited by Atravelynn