Birds of Ghana

Abena

I've had a look through the topics but I don't see anything specific to West Africa or Ghana so I thought I'd start one. I'm not familiar with tropical birds but I want to learn! I'm also not an expert photographer but I'm happy to share what I have. Grateful for feedback!

Black and White Mannikin (Lonchura bicolor) male and female

(thank you @@Tom Kellie for sharing the name!)

gallery_17433_1229_3567404.jpg

gallery_17433_1229_4604075.jpg

Village Weaver (Ploceus cucullatus)

gallery_17433_1229_5453000.jpg

gallery_17433_1229_5803970.jpg

I've had a look through the topics but I don't see anything specific to West Africa or Ghana so I thought I'd start one. I'm not familiar with tropical birds but I want to learn! I'm also not an expert photographer but I'm happy to share what I have. Grateful for feedback!

~ Hi, @@Abena!

WOW !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The bird photos you've posted are SUPER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Whatever camera and lens you're using — mobile phone? — it's more than good.

What do I know about Ghana's birds? Nothing. Therefore you're posts are a blessing.

Offering this topic for West African birds is such a nice contribution to Safaritalk.

Many, many THANKS!

Tom K.

post-49296-0-77936800-1429982181_thumb.jpg

~ @Abena:

Such a detailed, vibrant image is as good as it gets.

I really love the bird's energy!

Where are these images taken? Around where you live? In Aburi's Botanical Gardens?

Anything you post of this caliber will be highly welcomed by bird lovers.

Tom K.

Thanks @@Tom K! These were taken with a Nikon D5200 with a Nikkor 55-300 mm lens but really I just aim and hope it's focused right. And I am wishing for a longer telephoto lens :rolleyes:

I have some more photos to post but I want to make an attempt to identify the birds first.