You sit, you watch, you wait...

zimproguide

Many people who come on safari are in my opinion...to impatient. Many of these people would have watched all the amazing bits of footage you can see on Nat Geo Wild and Animal Planet.

Recently i had a guest arrive and straight after we had exchanged pleasantries upon meeting he tells me. “Just so we are clear...i have no interest in seeing Kudu, Impala, Warthog, Waterbuck....etc etc” Basically he rattles off ALL of the common stuff that is your bread and butter on a safari. No he wants the fillet steak and only the fillet steak. He tells me...”I want to see Cheetah , Wild dog and Grysbok, i have been doing safari for twenty five years and i have seen everything else many times except these three things!” I smile at him and reply “ Well this should be a fantastic safari as those are the things i want to see also”

That afternoon we find lions on the concession when doing an afternoon drive behind camp and true to his word he tells me there is no need to stop as we know what we are looking for and these big tawny cats aint it. The next morning we leave camp just before sunrise and hit the road. I know that there has been a Cheetah seen lately at Masuma pan down the road so decide that we will head that direction. Ahead of me is another guide from camp and he arrives at Masuma before me. He radios and tells me that he has fresh lion tracks and is on them and will keep me posted. We arrive at Masuma and walk into the hide. Just as we are sitting down i hear my radio. Its the call to tell me the lions have been found. The other guide is sitting with Day and Lewis and some of the females and all of the cubs. When i say ALL of the cubs i mean sixteen of them! Again true to his word, my guest shows no interest. He tells me he has the record for lions seen in one day in South Luangwa, thirty five lions in one day. I smile.