South Luangwa, September 2014

vikramghanekar

vikramghanekar

Hi all,

This is my first post on Safaritalk. So let me introduce myself.

I am from India, a doctor by profession and a keen amateur wildlife photographer.

I have visited many Indian National Parks in the past. This was my third trip to Africa after South Africa (Timbavati and Phinda in 2009), Kenya (Masai Mara 2012).

This was my first trip alone (normally my wife who is equally keen wildlifer accompanies me on all my trips). But she was staying back to care of our 1 year old son. We were supposed to do this trip together in 2013 but we had to postpone it as our son was born.

My trip was arranged by UK based Expert Africa. After spending a lot of time on the phone and a lot of emails back and forth, finally I decided to spend a week in Bushcamp Company's three camps- Bilimungwe, Kapamba and Kuyenda. They were offering a good deal with so single supplement!

I left Mumbai airport on Saturday 29th August by Emirates flying to Dubai and then onwards to Lusaka by early morning flight. What surprised me was the number of chinese passengers on board the Dubai to Lusaka flight. I arrived in Lusaka post lunch. Fortunately, the meet and greet person was right at the exit and I had no trouble finding him. Lusaka airport reminded me of old Mumbai airport from 1980s with a laidback feel with absence of all the razzmatazz associated a modern airport. I tried to get a local mobile sim card, but the Airtel shop at the airport was closed (apparently closes early on Saturday and remains closed throughout Sunday). There was no other shop to be seen which sold sim cards!!

My next immediate problem was that I was carrying a couple of heavy camera lenses and was exceeding my baggage allowance by a mile. Fortunately, the flight to Mfuwe was not full and the check in counter guy turned a blind eye. I breathed a sigh of relief as this was playing on my mind right from the time I left Mumbai.