Two weeks in SLNP - tales of leopards

Gregor

Hi Everyone

I´m just back after two weeks, 7 to 22 november, in South Luangwa National Park. It has been wonderful and I have now a treasure of pictures to go through and start processing. I will do it as I work my way through this trip report. I like to say that I am a serious amateur wildlife photographer, and my first priority on this trip is wildlife photography. By profession I am a clinical psychologist and manager of a primary care unit. This will be my third trip report on safari talk, and my fourth safari/wildlife photography trip.

After 6 months of waiting since i decided to go to SLNP, it was time. I worked all day, rushed home to pack up my things, and then my father and mother collected me. My thought was to go by myself, but my mother wanted to join, which is really nice. I sad goodbye to my wife and two boys (2 and 4 years old), and off to Arlanda airport.

Day 1 and 2, 7th and 8th of november

At check in the personel observed my a bit heavy hand luggage in a Thin Tank Airport securit v2.0 bag. I told her that it was camera equipment and that I can´t check it in. She told me I have to speak to Ethiopian airlines. So I did. He was really nice and asked how much it weigh. Uhh, about 20 kg (23 kg). He chocked a bit, but then sad it is ok. Next time, pleas tell us before you arrive at the airport. Of course, I sad..

After an uneventful flight via Addis Abeba we arrived at lunch in Lilongwe in Malawi. There we had booked a regular flight with Ulendo Air to Mfuwe in Zambia. I had told my mother, she didn´t have to worry about the plane. I have seen on their homepage that it will be turbo-prop airplane size of about 30 seats. Well, this was it :)

_DSC7238.jpg

A very friendly pilot named Russel welcomed us. My mother didn´t seem to worried, though.

_DSC7240.jpg