Trip Report - 15 Nts in KZN - Leopard Mountain, Thonga Beach Lodge, Mkuze Falls & More

Rocco626

(Please someone tell me how to insert my photos into this trip report and I'll do so promptly...they are all on my memory card right now but I'd like to add about a dozen photos here, thanks!).

After a 4 year absence, I made a return trip to South Africa, probably around my 7th visit, overall, and for the first time was visiting KwaZulu Natal (KZN) province. The sole reason for visiting this part of the country was to run the famed Comrades (90 kilometers/56 miles) Marathon, the biggest "ultra" marathon in the world with 15,000 runners all attempting the 90k point to point distance from Pietermaritzburg to Durban and finishing in the Kingsmead Cricket Stadium. An ultra marathon is defined as any race 50k (31 mikes) or longer while a standard marathon is 42k/26.2 miles.

Anyway, while, I was excited to see a new part of South Africa, I lowered my expectations because I am a veteran of many trips to the Sabi Sands to some of its finest lodges including Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge, Singita Boulders and Djuma Vuyatela, to name a few. Also, the most luxurious lodge I've visited in all of Africa, and my second favorite (after only Chiawa Camp in Lower Zambezi National Park), is in Madikwe Private Game Reserve where I've found game viewing on par with the Sabi Sand but with nicer landscapes and the opportunity for Wild Dogs and Cheetah (the Super Seven when added to the Big Five).