Brian's Art for Animals

Brian's Art for Animals

Back story: After taking 5 safaris to Kenya from 2003-2010, I wanted to try another African country.

I asked about gorilla tracking and also Tanzania here on Safari Talk. Through that I met Roberto from Savannah Explorers, and soon we were planning my next 10 days safari. I wanted a budget of less than 350 USD a day for everything, and it all worked out. Well, I had to put my gorilla dreams on hold until a future date.

I asked off from work (I work as a zookeeper in the Chicago area) and charged my cameras so I could go on this trip in Jan-Feb 2014.

That pretty much takes us into my first video (I am having problems with creating a link.so I will type the address and hope for the best here)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iyzl7jSvIJ4

We start from cold Chicago and soon are in Arusha town to spend the night. I once again flew with KLM and had no problems...well the vegetarian food dinner was bad on the plane, but you can't win them all.

Once in town, we met with our guide/driver Rama and took off to the Freedom Lodge. It was a very nice place (no other guests but my wife and I this night) and the food and room was excellent. All I wanted was a shower and a bed to rest for a few hours before driving out (approx. 2 hours) to our first park. Tarangire. As our guide was getting the paper work done to enter the park a woman screamed in the shop area. A black mamba had found its way into the shop and cleared it out. Soon the snake was on its way, and I was also on my way...

Our first drive is here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-eqeP8EVErI

What a way to start our trip with seeing a beautiful lioness and also some eles playing in the mud. For the most part (other than the lion sighting) we were the only jeep around. It took a while to get used to the jeep, as I was used to open air jeeps at Lewa, but since it was only my wife and I, I could easily manage myself between looking out from the top or my side window.