Serengeti self-drive: confused about leaving park and re-entering

KaliCA

Hello, I am new to Safari talk and I have the following question: I am planning a self-drive safari for August for two vehicles visiting the parks in northern TZ for 21 days. I would like to spend 8 days all over the Serengeti, hopefully catching the migration in the northern corridor. I am concerned about our food and fuel supply, since the last restock/ refuel point will probably be Karatu and we would be fully self-catering. I mean meat would probably last only 4 days and we are not too keen to eat only canned food.

Do you know if there are grocery stores available outside any of the other gates?

What happens regarding park fee when we leave then re-enter on the same day? The next day?

Any ideas how to figure the itinerary so food/fuel would not be an issue?

Our other spots are Lake Manyara, Tarangire,a crater visit, possibly Lake Natron, Lake Easey.

Thanks a lot for posting your ideas.

My recommendation would be that you have a freezer in your safari vehicle. We do this all the time when bush camping in the Outback. Your meat and other supplies would easily last 21 days.

Leaving the park and re-entering: Your park ticket should be valid for the whole day, so as long as you re-enter early enough to reach your campsite before curfew you should be fine.

Edited by Soukous

What @@Soukous says!

A freezer working off your vehicles power supply (ideally a good make designed for the rigours of the African bush, like Enkle). For our 7-8 day trips into the bush (with daytime temps often in the mid-high 40'sC) we rely heavily on carefully prepared, and managed, ice chests, though this is certainly a more space-hungry solution).

We always have cold beer and ice for the sundowners on the final day!

Edited by Whyone?

• 3 months later...
Anthilltiger