samburumags

LUGGAGE SPECIFICATIONS

31 posts in this topic

I am going to buy a new soft bag for safari and it is difficult to judge the size on the internet. The one I am looking at is advertised as holding 140 litres. Not being a mathematician I wonder if this is big enough or too big to carry 15KG of items which is the weight allowance for safari flights. Of course I could fill it with Tusker and being liquid I would know exactly how much beer I could carry! Please help if you can. I want a soft bag with wheels so if there are any recommendations for best manufacturer etc this would be much appreciated (not the luxury price range please)

140 litres is MASSIVE. My big rucksack is 65 litres, and when I bought it I was advised not to go any bigger as it would just tempt me to fill it and then it would be too heavy to carry. You could get bigger ones up to 85 litres, but realistically it would take someone a lot stronger than me to carry that when full.

So 140 litres is huge.

For 15kg you'd want more like 40 litres- I think the bag I use for my safari main luggage is a 35 litre holdall.

1 person likes this

yup its massive -it will be too bulky to lug around. My safari duffel is 60-70L- That gives me large 2 side pockets and more than enough room to carry gifts etc. Have taken a 25-30L as well and it was enough for all personal items if didnt need to stow any photographic stuff but nowadays need the bigger one for the tripod and clamps etc

I'm just trying to picture how big 140 litres would be- probably the size of a body bag!

I looked on Amazon for bags that big and I can see it's hard to tell without anything for scale. However, I found this 140 litre bike trailer. Next to the back wheel of the bike you can see how big it is-

http://www.amazon.co.uk/KMS-Folded-Luggage-Utility-Trailer/dp/B0046SGA56/ref=sr_1_4?s=sports&ie=UTF8&qid=1364221997&sr=1-4

Mags unless you want to bring back Notch in it, might be a bit too much :)